home > ethnic & religious Overview
Summary of Ethnic and Religious Facts in Chengdu

Chengdu is a city with scattered and mixed settlements of ethnic citizens. According to the statistics of the 6th National Census, among the permanent resident population, the number of the Han Chinese population is 13,920,686, accounting for 99.1% of the total; and the number of the minority population is 126,939, accounting for 0.9%. Among the minority population, there are ten ethnic groups whose populations exceed one thousand, including Hui, Tibetan, Manchu, Qiang, Mongolian, Tujia, Yi, Miao, Zhuang, and Korean. Hui and Tibetan groups are of the largest populations, of which both are more than ten thousand people. For the minority groups, 83% of the residents live in urban areas and 17% in rural areas. Chengdu is the political, economic, and cultural center of Sichuan Province, as well as its transportation and communication hub. It is an important central city in the southwest of China, as well as one of the three air bridges heading to Tibet. The city is closely neighboring with three autonomous prefectures of Sichuan Province (Ganzi, Aba and Liangshan), and four minority autonomous counties (Mabian, Ebian, Muli and Beichuan), among which there are the second largest Tibetan area, the largest Yi ethnic community, and the sole Qiang ethnic community in the country, with an ethnic population of more than 3 million. Chengdu is a city with the presence of all five major religions, including Buddhism, Taoism, Catholicism, Christianism, and Islam. The city boasts a long history of religious dissemination. It is the birthplace and cradle of Taoism. Buddhism was disseminated for more than two thousand years, Islam nearly one thousand years, and Catholicism and Christianism a few hundred years. Currently, there are 5 city-wide religious groups, 26 county level ones, and 255 approved religious sites open to the public, with 1,489 registered clergies, and more than 1 million believers. A number of key religious sites, such as Baoguang Temple, Wenshu Monastery, Zhaojue Temple, Daci Temple, Aidaotang Buddhist Nunnery, Qingyang Taoist Temple, Qingcheng Mountain Taoist Temple, Heming Mountain Taoist Temple, Ping’an Bridge Catholic Church, Shangxiang Christian Church, and Imperial City Mosque, enjoy extensive awareness and influence both at home and abroad. 
Chengdu Municipal Bureau of Ethnic and Religious Affairs governs ethnic and religious affairs of Chengdu. The bureau consists of eight internal functional departments, including the Bureau Office, Division of Policies and Law, Division of Economy, Division I of Ethnic affairs, Division  II  of Ethnic affairs, Division I of Religious Affairs, and Division II of Religious Affairs, and Division of Personnel, and the Disciplinary Inspection and Supervision Office dispatched by the Disciplinary Inspection Commission of Chengdu Municipal CPC Committee (Supervisory Bureau), with the Chengdu Service Center for Ethnic and Religious Affairs, its subordinate unit.

Address: 9F of No.1 Building, No.3 Office Area of Municipal Government Agencies, No.366 of Jincheng Avenue, Chengdu
Tel: 028-61880999
Fax: 028-61880968